Moms of Modesty

God seeking and modest women who answer the call to be homemakers.

Even Washing Dishes Glorifies God!

on January 3, 2012

 

 

Sometimes I feel like all my housework is in vein. After all, as soon as I wash the dishes, sweep the floors, organize the toys, and wash clothes, it’s all going to get dirty all over again (most times, in a matter of minutes.) Then, I remember what I read in Ecclesiastes 2:  17-26 verses:

17 So I hated life, because the work that is wrought under the sun was grievous unto me; for all is vanity and a striving after wind. 18 And I hated all my labor wherein I labored under the sun, seeing that I must leave it unto the man that shall be after me. 19 And who knoweth whether he will be a wise man or a fool? yet will he have rule over all my labor wherein I have labored, and wherein I have showed myself wise under the sun. This also is vanity. 20 Therefore I turned about to cause my heart to despair concerning all the labor wherein I had labored under the sun. 21 For there is a man whose labor is with wisdom, and with knowledge, and with skillfulness; yet to a man that hath not labored therein shall he leave it for his portion. This also is vanity and a great evil. 22 For what hath a man of all his labor, and of the striving of his heart, wherein he labored under the sun? 23 For all his days are [but] sorrows, and his travail is grief; yea, even in the night his heart taketh no rest. This also is vanity. 24 There is nothing better for a man [than] that he should eat and drink, and make his soul enjoy good in his labor. This also I saw, that it is from the hand of God. 25 For who can eat, or who can have enjoyment, more than I? 26 For to the man that pleaseth Him [God] giveth wisdom, and knowledge, and joy; but to the sinner he giveth travail, to gather and to heap up, that he may give to him that pleaseth God. This also is vanity and a striving after wind.

You see in these verses that Solomon “hated life”. He felt all of his hard work and labor was in vein. He was so concerned with who would come after him when he was gone to destroy what he had built and accomplished. Solomon did not want a foolish person to be responsible for his accomplishments after he was no longer king.

This story can be approached several ways, but when I read it I automatically saw how this applied to my life as a homemaker and mother. A mother and homemaker’s life can be somewhat redundant, to say the least. It’s not glamorous, it get’s boring, the chores are never really done, and Lord knows, we surely don’t get the praise and thanks that we think we deserve. The most wonderful job in the world can yet be the most stressful and frustrating job as well. God; however, reminds us that nothing that we do for Him is in vein. He sees everything we do. No matter what a person’s title, job, or position it should be done as if God is the only person watching and let him be the one to reward us for our good works.

The life and role of a homemaker and mother is not meaningless. Even washing dishes honors and glorifies God!

Leave a Reply

